The 2019 Motor State KnockOut No-Prep Event Recap

The 2019 Motor State KnockOut No-Prep Event Recap

The Motor State KnockOut No-Prep Drag Event held June 14-15, at US 131 Motorsports Park in Martin, Michigan saw drivers from four states competing in five featured classes, Big Tire, Small Tire, Outlaw Street, Late Model Muscle Modified and Late Model Muscle Stock. Motor State Distributing along with 38 of its vendors partnered with US 131 Motorsports Park to create one of the premier No-Prep drag races in the Upper Midwest.

Racers took to the track on Friday evening for a Test and Tune session that featured a heads-up race, the Edelbrock Punchout. This saw Late Model Muscle Stock and Late Model Muscle Modified presented by JBA Performance Exhaust compete for $1000 in a winner take all competition. Tom Motycka from Decatur, Michigan took home the cash in the Modified division while Holland, Michigan’s Doug Maatman was the Stock division winner.

The next day saw a large contingent of vendor displays representing all the participating sponsors, set-up in the Vendor Village. Motor State Distributing had representatives meeting and talking with the competitors in the pit area as well.

Saturday afternoon main event was contested under a threat of rain throughout the day. The five classes of racing went off as planned. The Late Model Muscle Stock division was the first final round to be completed and once again it was Doug Maatman taking home the big check.

The Big Tire group saw a great race in the finals as Ryan Hendrickson from Kouts, Indiana edged out Osceola, Indiana’s Bryant Goldstone. Just before the eighth-mile finish, Goldstone’s transmission expired leaving a trail of fluid down the right lane. The cleanup was extensive and during the downtime, Mother Nature decided to spread some moisture throughout the area. After looking at the weather radar, the event was called.

The three remaining classes saw the purse split up between the remaining racers. Tony Mangiaracina and Carl Stancell would split the top two money spots in Small Tire as Late Model Muscle Modified finalists Tyler Hassing and Tom Motycka would do the same. The Outlaw Street group had five racers still vying for the top spot with Kyle Jordan, Justin Spiniolas, Mike Morelli and Tom Hersh splitting the remaining payout.

Photos: Lane Automotive Media, Chris Simmons


DragzineDragzine – The 2019 Motor State KnockOut No-Prep Event Recap

Facebook Comments